Main siteMain site  ForumForum  ForumSearch  Private messageEmail contact  RegisterRegister  Log inLog in 
Topic: Dominant Frequency
Reply to topic
Author Message
GMartin



Joined: Feb 5, 2010
Posts: 223

PostPosted: Feb 5, 2019 4:41 PM    Post subject: Dominant Frequency

Jarek,

I have been working with the dominant frequency element and have a question
Where in that element can I change the number of Bins used in the calculation?

Thanks

George
jarek



Joined: Oct 22, 2007
Posts: 650

PostPosted: Feb 5, 2019 4:56 PM    Post subject:

It is: "FFT bin count"

If the above value is larger than "Input sample count" then the reminding values are filled with 0.

Smaller "Input sample count" improves response time, but degrades accuracy.
GMartin



Joined: Feb 5, 2010
Posts: 223

PostPosted: Feb 5, 2019 4:57 PM    Post subject:

Thanks
GMartin



Joined: Feb 5, 2010
Posts: 223

PostPosted: Feb 5, 2019 5:53 PM    Post subject:

I have used that on the FFT transform but can not find that option in the FFT2 transform used inthe dominant frequency calculation.

George
jarek



Joined: Oct 22, 2007
Posts: 650

PostPosted: Feb 5, 2019 6:32 PM    Post subject:

FFT2Transform doesn't do windowing. It uses a separate element for that: StreamToVector2.
GMartin



Joined: Feb 5, 2010
Posts: 223

PostPosted: Feb 8, 2019 11:56 AM    Post subject:

Jarek,

I have noticed that the dominant frequency output value slows down over time,after about 10 seconds or so the value slowly. If I set a numeric display to six digits I can see some changes in the 5th and 6th digits. I have tried this with a variety of edf files with the same results

I have experimented with different values in the streamtovector2 with no real success. One of the versions I tried updated more quickly and continued over to do that over time but the values were clearly not accurate.


Is there a way to fine tune the dominant frequency nested design to make it respond more quickly

Any help is greatly appreciated, signal processing is not my strength.

Thanks

George
jarek



Joined: Oct 22, 2007
Posts: 650

PostPosted: Feb 8, 2019 12:57 PM    Post subject:

Try lowering the value of "Input sample count"

The lower it is, the faster the response should be.

For example, with input sample rate of 256, if you set it to 128, you should have a response of about half a second.
GMartin



Joined: Feb 5, 2010
Posts: 223

PostPosted: Feb 8, 2019 1:33 PM    Post subject:

Thanks

This accomplishes exactly what I want
Reply to topic