Main siteMain site  ForumForum  ForumSearch  Private messageEmail contact  RegisterRegister  Log inLog in 
Topic: why there is no ways to restore the data or design?no undo !
Reply to topic
Author Message
angel61606



Joined: Jul 8, 2020
Posts: 19

PostPosted: Aug 17, 2020 12:51 AM    Post subject: why there is no ways to restore the data or design?no undo !

Dear JArect thanks a million times for this incredible platform which you have provided for us but why in world there is no undo button or ctr+z option or at least a way to restore the lost design? i have lost at least twice my data completely once, moreover many times it happened to me that i deleted some elements wrongly and there was no way to return the wrongly deleted elements . the disaster was once when selected all my design to move it to right (bc there is no scroll option to move desing to right or left) before i deselect the option i wanted to use insert button but instead i touched delete button wrongly and all my design was deleted . the works of at least week was gone. it felt awful, it was my mistake i know but i wish i could undo it somehow. i am backing up my data all the time ever since but still i do feel the need for an option to restore my data or deleted elements.
thanks a billion for your consideration in advance.
jarek



Joined: Oct 22, 2007
Posts: 814

PostPosted: Aug 17, 2020 9:05 AM    Post subject:

The undo operation would be nice, and it was approached many times, but unfortunately there is no mechanism (in BioEra code) which can properly follow and undo exactly what the user did.

My best advice would be that when you make a serious mistake and remove too much - do not save the design. You can abandon all changes (since the last save) by closing the console window (press X on console window). Make design backups often, they are useful even if the undo operation was available.
GMartin



Joined: Feb 5, 2010
Posts: 286

PostPosted: Aug 20, 2020 10:00 PM    Post subject:

I have had the sanme thing happen to many times to count. I have ended up saving frequently as I make changes. If I do something stupid I immediately do a :"save as" with a random name then load original again. It has worked almost all the time. I also disable save changes with exit.
Reply to topic