Main siteMain site  ForumForum  ForumSearch  Private messageEmail contact  RegisterRegister  Log inLog in 
Topic: Trouble with OpenBCI Cyton and BioEra with Brain Trainer
Reply to topic
Author Message
KMC



Joined: Oct 3, 2020
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Oct 4, 2020 12:34 AM    Post subject: Trouble with OpenBCI Cyton and BioEra with Brain Trainer

Hi,

I recently bought an OpenBCI Cyton (in the last 3 months), and am interested in doing some basic Neurofeedback using Brain Trainer from Peter Van Deusen. I have tested the Cyton board with the OpenBCI GUI and I can get 8 channels of clear signal. However, with BioEra I'm getting some weird results. I'm using the OpenBCI device as the setup, and it is seeing the device. I'm on a Windows 10 device running BioEra Pro.

Basically it seems to be reading some activity but not clear waveform in the oscilloscope. If I tap on the leads on the OpenBCI, it does show electrical activity, but it doesn't produce an clear waveforms. As I mentioned there is no problem with the OpenBCI GUI.

Here is a couple images. You'll see in the Brain Trainer app, there is some info in the bar graph, but no waveform in the oscilloscope:
https://postimg.cc/gallery/j7JTVPQ
When I run the simulator as a source it produces waveform, so that's why I'm concerned there is an issue, but I'm just getting into this now, so maybe there is something that escapes me.

I read this thread on the forum http://www.bioera.net/support/viewtopic.jsp?id=551 and in this case it seemed related to firmware. I'm not sure if that is the issue here, or perhaps there is something I need to adjust in the OpenBCI Device settings?

Any assistance would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
Kevin
jarek



Joined: Oct 22, 2007
Posts: 820

PostPosted: Oct 4, 2020 9:26 AM    Post subject:

It might be a scaling issue. There is a simple BioEra example design for openbci here which you might want to try:

http://proatech.com/design/openbci.bpd

Firmware update might also be a good idea. Although I can't help with that.
KMC



Joined: Oct 3, 2020
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Oct 4, 2020 9:49 AM    Post subject:

Thanks Jarek,

So your simple design is generating waveform. The gain in your design is what is scaling things up I guess? I guess I need to see with the people at Brain Trainer about how to adjust the gain for their designs?

Thanks,
Kevin
jarek



Joined: Oct 22, 2007
Posts: 820

PostPosted: Oct 4, 2020 10:43 AM    Post subject:

Yes, scaling only improves the display. It does not affect the training, so it may not be a prority to do it.
wjcroft



Joined: Jul 30, 2008
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Oct 4, 2020 12:43 PM    Post subject:

Jarek, thanks.

KMC, hi. If you examine that thread you mentioned,

http://www.bioera.net/support/viewtopic.jsp?id=551

You can see the reference to "DC offset", which must be removed for (most, non ILF) OpenBCI Cyton designs. This is typically done by a bandpass filter say from .5 Hz to 45 Hz. This removes the large millivolt DC offset below .5 Hz.

It's most likely that the current Brain Trainer BioEra design misses this finer point for Cyton. The DC offset is not present with Ganglion.

Regards, William Croft
KMC



Joined: Oct 3, 2020
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Oct 4, 2020 4:21 PM    Post subject:

Thank you both very much. I will try this and get back to you.

Take care,
Kevin
KMC



Joined: Oct 3, 2020
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Oct 5, 2020 5:42 PM    Post subject:

Hi Jarek,

thanks again for helping me with this. I was able to get a clear signal by adding the bandpass filter that William suggested from .5 to 45 Hz. So I reached out to the people from Brain Trainer and they helped me replace the design that they had for OpenBCI in their software and the signal now looks clear. I appreciate your time. I figured I'd leave this here in the thread so that if someone else has the same issue in the future with Brain Trainer, it's recorded.

Thanks,
Kevin
Reply to topic