Main siteMain site  ForumForum  ForumSearch  Private messageEmail contact  RegisterRegister  Log inLog in 
Topic: Designs empty
Reply to topic
Author Message
jmarks



Joined: Aug 2, 2021
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Aug 2, 2021 1:26 PM    Post subject: Designs empty

Hello everyone, I am new here. I have a Neurobit Optima 4 and connect it to BioEraPro. I have made several working designs and it happens to me now the third time that at one point, the designs are suddenly empty. They are 2 - 4 kb in size, but no modules show up anymore. Does someone understand that problem and can help me? It is a real nusance to recreate the designs every now and then completely new. Thank you very much! John
jarek



Joined: Oct 22, 2007
Posts: 910

PostPosted: Aug 2, 2021 1:38 PM    Post subject:

This is definitely unusual. I edited and saved designs thousands times and don't remember a design lost its content. When there is an unexpected problem with current design, BioEra may revert back to the default design (which is 2kb, so maybe this is what you see). But this should not alter the original design, which should stay the same and can be opened again. It also doesn't look like Windows or Antivirus software is changing the design file content, because then it would not be possible to open from BioEra.

If there is a way you know how to reproduce this problem, please let us know.
jmarks



Joined: Aug 2, 2021
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Aug 3, 2021 10:49 AM    Post subject:

Dear Jarek, thank you very much for your friendly and interested reply. Unfortunately I do not know how to reproduce it, because it seems to happen rather arbitrary. Can I send you one of those files that lost its content to see if it makes sense to you? Thanks, John
jarek



Joined: Oct 22, 2007
Posts: 910

PostPosted: Aug 3, 2021 1:11 PM    Post subject:

I can take a look, but I doubt it can help with this problem. There is nothing in the design file which could explain it.
jmarks



Joined: Aug 2, 2021
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Aug 4, 2021 1:39 PM    Post subject:

Dear Jarek, thanks again for your reply. I would still appreciate you looking into the file because I am not sure if the content really dissapeared or if BioEra for some strange reason simply does not plot it. I shared the file in my webspace. https://owncloud.tuebingen.mpg.de/index.php/s/5gLbHLaNLY3XPry The password is "BioEra"

Thank you so much for your effort,
John
jarek



Joined: Oct 22, 2007
Posts: 910

PostPosted: Aug 4, 2021 1:41 PM    Post subject:

When I click on that link, I get "File not found" error page.
jmarks



Joined: Aug 2, 2021
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Aug 4, 2021 1:53 PM    Post subject:

I am awfully sorry, that was my fault! Here is a working link: https://owncloud.tuebingen.mpg.de/index.php/s/qj5D2EJCFqwXpHW / password "BioEra21"

John
jarek



Joined: Oct 22, 2007
Posts: 910

PostPosted: Aug 4, 2021 2:03 PM    Post subject:

I can load this design fine. It is NOT empty, it has Neurobit driver element and others.

Do you see it is empty when you load it?
jmarks



Joined: Aug 2, 2021
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Aug 4, 2021 2:06 PM    Post subject:

yes, for some reason I do. I can add modules to this empty appearing file and save it again and they will first show. But at some point they vanish again. I had this now three times over the course of a year.

John
jarek



Joined: Oct 22, 2007
Posts: 910

PostPosted: Aug 4, 2021 2:15 PM    Post subject:

I wonder if this might be some sort of a display problem on the designer window.

Please load this design, then click on "Element" menu and select "Element list". This should show dialog with a list of elements currently in the design. Is this list empty too?
jmarks



Joined: Aug 2, 2021
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Aug 5, 2021 4:20 AM    Post subject:

Dear Jarek, yes, the elements list is indeed empty. By the way, I didn~t mention yet, that I cannot open a design by simply doubleclicking it. When I do, a terminal opens with the error message: Missing file 0 - Reinstallation may fix the problem. Unfortunately it doesn~t though. I need to start BioEra and load the design from within the program to work with it.

thanks,
John
jarek



Joined: Oct 22, 2007
Posts: 910

PostPosted: Aug 5, 2021 4:31 PM    Post subject:

BioEra is not configured by default to open a design on a double click.

You can change it by editing the "start.bat" file (located in BioEraPro folder), so that it has only those 3 lines:

c:
cd "c:\Program Files (x86)\BioEraPro\"
bioera.exe -design %*

Then right click on a design file and select "Open With" then "Choose default program" and browse to and select the above "start.bat" (or other bat script you modified that way).

I can't explain the empty list after you load the design. Maybe you could copy this design to 'BioEraPro\design' folder and try to load it from there, although I have no problem loading it from anywhere else.

Another idea: start BioEra WITH CONSOLE, load this design, and see if there is any error message printed on the console.
jmarks



Joined: Aug 2, 2021
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Aug 6, 2021 4:37 AM    Post subject:

Dear Jarek, I have already set the default program and it opens in a console, but as I wrote in my last message, it displays the error message: "Missing file 0".
jarek



Joined: Oct 22, 2007
Posts: 910

PostPosted: Aug 6, 2021 8:33 AM    Post subject:

You also need to edit that file (as mentioned above).

Or download this and then save it (overwrite existing) in your BioEraPro folder:

http://proatech.com/design/start.bat

Then make sure you set the default program to this file.

It must be put into BioEraPro folder (not in your download folder or anywhere else).
Reply to topic